|| Rate this content|
HP ProCurve 2910al Switch Series - Restoring the Factory Default
As part of the troubleshooting process on the switch, it may become necessary to return the switch configuration to the factory default settings. Restoring to factory default :
NOTE: This process removes all switch configuration changes the user has made from the factory default settings. This includes, for example, configuration of VLANs, Spanning Tree, trunks, and stacking. Returning the configuration of these features to their factory default settings (usually disabling them) may result in network connectivity issues.
If the switch has a valid configuration, and if the user is restoring the factory default settings for a reason other than configuration problems, they should save the switch configuration prior to performing the factory default reset. Then, after the reset and resolution of the original problem, the user can restore the saved configuration to the switch. For both the save and restore processes, they can use the console copy command.
The user can restore the factory default configuration either on the switch itself, or through the switch console.
To execute the factory default reset on the switch, perform these steps:
To restore the factory default configuration using the console, execute the erase startup-config command from the console command prompt.